How to Delete your Google or Gmail account?

In this tutorial, we explain how to delete your Google or Gmail account in a few steps. But also how to save all related data, and possibly recover your account if you deleted it by mistake.



The Android operating system is intimately linked to Google. Yet it is open source and lacks interest when its services are not installed on it and requires a lot of tricks to get out of its grip.
We suggested in a tutorial to separate you from Google on your Android phone, but maybe you want to go even further and just say goodbye? We’ll help you delete your Google or Gmail account easily, with step-by-step guide.

Read this before you start

Deleting your account will have the following effects:

– Loss of access and data from all Google servicessuch as Gmail, Drive, Calendar, as well as all data such as photos saved on the account.

– Loss of subscriptions, paid or not, or content purchased on YouTube or the Play Store (apps, movies, books, music…)

– Chrome information such as bookmarks, but also web browser applications

– Loss of account contacts on your Android phone

– Loss of the username of this account, which will not be recoverable.
Start by backing up your data

For that:
– Log in to your account and go to the account management page

– Click on  Data and Personalisation link under your avatar.

– Scroll down to Download, Delete or Plan the Future of Your Data

– Go to Download your data


– Check the data to be included and scroll down to the bottom of the page to be able to click Next Step.


– Click Create and Export


Google prepares your data, you will receive a link by email to download them when they are ready. Don’t go any further until you have downloaded your archive. It contains data that you will regret losing forever.

How to delete your Gmail / Google account

Precautions have been taken, the data has been saved… Now all that remains is to take the final step! Be aware that you have the possibility to delete only certain products rather than your entire account, so be sure to target your needs first and foremost. For example, you can completely delete your Gmail address while still having access to Google’s services – it will simply ask you to set up a new email address for it to use.
To do this :
– Sign in to your account and access your account options

– Go to the Data and Personalization  tab

– Go to Download, Delete or Plan the Future of Your Data

– Click Delete a service or your account


– Go to Delete a service


– Click the trashcan icon to the right of the Gmail line

To delete your entire Google Account :
– Sign in to your account and access your account options

– Go to the Data and Personalization tab

– Go to Download, Delete or Plan the Future of Your Data

– Click Delete a service or your account


– Go to Delete your Google Account


How to recover a Google Account

By default, the account will be permanently deleted. However, if you instantly regret your choice, you will have a short period of time during which you may still have a chance to recover your account. The process is incredibly simple.
To try to go back, follow this method:
– Go to the account recovery page

– Login with your old login details

That’s it, the connection is established as if nothing had happened and you immediately get back to normal use!

Were you able to delete or recover your account? Did you encounter any difficulties? Tell us all about it in the comments!



Leave a Reply